HomeEsportsEventsPGC 2021 Tournament Details & Structure

PGC 2021 Tournament Details & Structure

It has been a tough year for esports events due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Hosting PGI.S and 2 PUBG Continental Series tournaments before, PUBG did the best it could. And now, the game is getting ready for its biggest tournament: PUBG Global Championship (PGC) 2021. In this article, we looked at some changes that are coming with this year’s iteration.

PUBG Global Championship (PGC) 2021 will be mixed tournament!

According to the current calendar, PUBG Global Championship (PGC) will be held in November. Like former PGI.S, it will be a mix of LAN and online. Teams that are successful will be invited to fly to Paradise City in Incheon, Korea.

From November 19 to December 19, the best 32 teams around the world will compete for a prize pool over $2,000,000. As in previous tournaments, PGC will add 30% of the profit from PGC product sales directly to the prize pool. Thus, teams will get a share of fans’ support, as well.

12 teams from Asia, 8 from Europe, 6 from Asia-Pacific, and 6 from America will get an invitation for the tournament. The exact list of the participants will be clear after PCS5 ends according to PGC qualification points collected during the year.

Tournament Format

PGC 2021 will be a 5-week tournament. The first week will be Rank Decision, the next three weeks will be Weekly League and the final week will have the Grand Final.

Rank Decision

There will be matches to determine which 16 teams will start in the first Weekly Survival. This one week will be an opportunity for teams to evaluate each other.

Weekly Survival

There will be survival matches for three weeks. If teams want to see the final, they will have to get at least one win. According to the tournament rules, the next team from the bottom 16 waiting list will join the remaining 15 teams from each lobby.

Weekly Final

In this stage, teams will have ten matches for two days. The winner of each weekly final (3 teams in total) will qualify for Grand Final. The top 9 teams which got the highest point will be in Grand Final. Teams that can’t make it to Grand Final will join Grand Survival. Teams getting one win in each of four matches will have the last Grand Final slot.

Grand Final

16 teams will compete in a 15 match series for three days. In the end, the Grand Final ranking will determine the World Champion of PGC 2021.

Changes to Winner Winner Chicken Dinner (WWCD) format!

After having several feedbacks from both players and fans for a long time, PUBG Esports decided to change the format. They had announced that they adopted a new ranking method with the MC rule applied to PCS4 and PCS5 in April.

In their statement, the company said that they tried to add more entertainment and excitement to the tournament. For them, this was the only way to make survival clear, which was the base of the Battle Royal style. The statement continues like that:

We sought to add more fun and excitement to the tournament and to promote the core identity of the Battle Royale genre, Survival. However, the rule change caused some unintended side effects. Matches became more monotonous, and teams suffered from the excess pressure to earn Chicken Dinners.

After collecting feedback from fans and through a deep discussions with PUBG teams around the world, we’ve made the following decision regarding the PUBG Esports scoring system.

As an exception, the Weekly Survival matches will feature WWCD format and not use SUPER Point Rule.

All other matches will use the SUPER Point Rule and consider both placement points and kill points.

The final rankings will be decided by SUPER Point Rule using both placement points and kill points.

PUBG Esports

As esportimes, we wish good luck to all teams in the tournament.

Volkan Tankır
Volkan Tankır
A hardcore gamer, musician, photographer. Loves learning new things, keeps up with the world.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img


Skyesports Masters 2024 with $350,000 Prize Pool Announced!

The Skyesports Masters 2024 tournament, which will take place as a LAN in India, has been officially announced. The teams Liquid, NIP, BIG and...

LEC – First Two Weeks!